Vintage Vanity

I really should have named the post “Broken and Dirty Vanity” because of the state this piece of furniture was in when I got it.  In the teeny tiny Craigslist picture, it looked like a beauty.  My friend picked it up and gave it to me for my birthday.  When she brought it to my house, it looked like a diamond in the rough.  After I started to prep it for painting, it looked like a hot mess.  First, there was a layer of dirt on top of the layers of paint.  Then, the drawers fell apart as soon I took them out.  One of the drawer pulls was missing a piece.  The casters were rusty and didn’t spin.  A hot mess.

It is on the grass because I gave it bath.  After a quick rinse and scrub, it still looked dirty.  Not even a sanding with 100 grit paper could get the dirt off.  I had to bring out the big guns and strip the paint off.  I’ll give more details on that later.

I painted it a more-blue-than-green teal with gold drawer pulls and black casters.   I finished it with a high gloss clear coat so it is not photographing as cute as it looks in real life.  I had to perform major surgery on this little vanity, but it paid off because everyone that has stopped by recently has been singing its praises.

Tomorrow I’ll give some tips and tricks to bringing almost broken vintage pieces back to life.

This entry was posted in furniture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage Vanity

  1. Kristy Swain says:

    You did such a great job! Gorgeous.

  2. Wow, that’s gorgeous! I adore the pulls on that vanity, it looks amazing, thanks so much for sharing this. Bravo!
    xo
    Kate

Leave a Reply

