YHL Book Signing

EDIT:  Why didn’t anyone mention the fact that I forgot to post the picture with me and YHLers?  Check it out below.

Were you wondering why I didn’t bring my personal photographer to Goodwill to take pictures of me instead resorting to the awful camera phone pictures?  Well, only days before I had dragged my personal paparazzi (and the baby) to the Young House Love book signing.  It didn’t go quite as I expected so I was a little embarrassed to ask for another favor.

I knew we either had to get to the book signing really-early or really-late.  If I set my mind to it, I can make it to things early on time.  Unfortunately, we have a reoccurring theme of something happening with the baby to cause us to be late.  I can’t remember the exact fiasco which happened that particular morning, but we only left the house at 10:30 for an 11am book signing.  Boohoo.  So we decided to go for the really-late option and grab breakfast before the signing.

I thought arriving over an hour after the start of the event would have allowed us to be in and out within 30 minutes.  Nope, we waited for 2 hours.  I know you’re thinking, “That’s crazy.”  It was.  The first 30 minutes, I felt like the line was moving pretty fast.

yhl5

The next 30 minutes, the baby went to the car for a diaper change and feeding so waiting by myself didn’t feel like a long time.  By the time they got back, I had been waiting so long we couldn’t just leave.

yhl3are we done yet?

 

To make time go by faster, West Elm served delicious treats like mini chocolates shakes and YHL logo cookies:

yhl2

It was a great marketing idea to make everyone wait inside because I wanted quite a few things by the time I left.  After one hour and forty five minutes, C finally said, “So why do you like these people so much?”  Well, they have inspired quite a few projects in the house including the rain barrels and painting our wood paneling and even cloth diapering.  I was professing their coolness when he interupted me and said, “You’re not going to tell them all of this are you?  That’s embarrassing that you’re copying them.”  Um, hello.  Isn’t that why people blog?  So people will love their projects and copy them. Of course that’s not why I do it.

yhl7we’re almost there!

 

Anyhoo, we finally get to the front of the line and I hand them my book to sign.  And I smile.  They ooh and ahh over the baby.  And I smile.  I’m not sure why I didn’t think of anything to chit chat about, but all I could blurt out was, “My husband thinks it’s embarrassing that I copy your projects.”  They graciously say it isn’t embarrassing and we take our picture.

yhl6

I have to admit it was kind of anti-climactic.  But I attribute it to the fact that we were too pooped to be excited about meeting two of our (the baby and I) favorite bloggers.

As we are standing in line to pay for my newly graffiti-ed book, C says, “OH, NO.”  Me, “What?!”  Him, “You have lipstick on your teeth.”  Yeah right.  As I wipe my teeth with my finger, beads of sweat form on my forehead.  When I look down and see lipstick, one tiny drop of perspiration lands on my hand.  Embarrassing.  Seriously embarrassing.

Oh well.  I’m sure neither of the YHLers saw it.  Even if they did, I’m never going to see them again so c’est la vie.  Would I do it again?  Yup.  Exactly the same way?  Nope.  I’d leave the two anchors at home and get there early as planned.  Oh well.  On the bright side, any time I can spend with the family is worth the moaning and groaning of waiting in line.

I know you’ve been waiting to see my prize.  I’ll be putting it next to my autographed Ben Stein book.

yhl1

Did anyone else go to one of the YHL book stops?  Anything more embarrasing than my experience?  I won’t ask if you experienced anything better because drinking one more mini chocolate shake would have been cooler.

Update:  My suspicions have been confirmed.  Other people had a much cooler experience at the book signing than me as documented by YHL. Is it weird that we posted about this on the same day?

This entry was posted in pretty things. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YHL Book Signing

  1. Tiffany says:

    I just read about their book tour this morning on my train ride to work! I didn’t know you went. Dang I totally would have gone with you but unfortunately for me we are putting our friendship on hold while I have been banished myself into a dark dingy room filled with books. Boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

