Need a Soft Drink?

Then get a water softener.  The system remove minerals (such as calcium and magnesium) which are deposited (on your skin or tub) when the water evaporates.  The house has a water softener and it is taking awhile to get used to.  And I’m not sure if it is unhealthy since it uses salt to break down the minerals.  We drink the tap water (gasp, but it’s filtered) and cook with it so we’ll be ingesting more sodium than normal.  I haven’t been abnormally thirsty so it can’t be too much.

There is a noticeable difference in the water.  I’m not sure if it is good or bad, but I never have that squeaky clean feeling.  Whether it is the dishes feeling oily or showering, it feels like a gallon of conditioner was dumped on you and now you’re fighting to wash it off.  So  I’m rinsing the dishes more and taking longer showers since I’m spending extra time to “wash” the soap off.  On the plus side, we don’t have water spots on our glass shower door.  Anyone else have the Culligan man stop by?  How do you like it?

*1.5 weeks and zero water spots! Don’t tell C, but I never squeegee the door*
This entry was posted in house. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Need a Soft Drink?

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary |

  2. suz says:

    we had several softener salesman hassle us, we were almost sold on “never having to squeegee”….very tempting!

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      Oops…I forgot C reads the blog and just said, “WHAT?! You don’t squeegee?”

      I’ll update you in a month if we have any water spots.

  3. Tyson says:

    I don’t think it is too much extra sodium but I did read that it may be harmful if the doctor recommends that a person adhere to a low-sodium diet. I don’t know if I would go with a water-softener if you never feel clean, but I do enjoy having baby soft skin so I guess it is a toss-up.

  4. tiffany says:

    oh in AZ you have to have one…i heard the sodium in the softners can lead to higher chances of heart issues later on in life. and the soapy oily feeling is from the softner

Leave a Reply

