Paint By Numbers

Before I started painting my finished wood pieces, I wanted to find the easiest and fastest way to get them done.  I’ve come across a lot of good tips in various blogs, but my favorites are from this one.  Here are the things I cannot live without during my painting projects.

*I should have numbered these in the order I use them, but I didn’t.  So, they’re not in numerical order as you read.  It annoys me, but I’m to lazy to fix it.*

1.  I start the wood pieces with Zinsser primer.  It says it sticks to any surface, including laminates and varnished wood, without sanding.  I don’t want to take any changes so I always do I quick sand anyways.  It dries really quickly so you have to work fast with it.  Priming pieces definitely isn’t fast, but I wanted to make sure the paint job is durable since I would be using the pieces (desk, drawers and jewelry box) frequently.

One issue I have is that I have no idea how to clean the paint brushes.  Since it is an oil based primer, I tried cleaning them with mineral spirits and paint thinner.  It doesn’t come off without scraping and then it still isn’t clean.  So I just throw the brushes away.  So not like me to be wasteful, but that is how difficult it is.

3.  I use 100 grit sand paper to scruff the wood before I start.  Depending on how smoothly I painted the primer, I might sand the dried primer if the brush strokes are too prominent.  Finally, I use 220 grit before my last coat to make is smooth.

4.  Of course I use a sander to make sure the paint is sanded evenly.  I only hand sand the nooks, corners and curves.  I have a small, cheap sander my dad gave me awhile ago, but it gets the job done.

7.  It goes without saying that you wipe away and dust created by sanding.  I clean it with both a damp and dry cloth to make sure it is really clean.

2.  Spray paint gives a smooth finish which is free of brush strokes.  I have used both the Krylon and Rustoleum brand.  I prefer the Krylon because it has a finer spray and smoother finish.  Rustoleum used to have a finer spray, but their quality changed a few months ago.  They also changed their label art.  Coincidence?  I don’t think so.

5.  C thinks I’m silly to wear these disposable masks, but I feel like I’ll get a headache if I don’t.  Between the sanding and spray paint, there is a lot of stuff in the air.  I don’t care how sweaty my face gets, I wear them 95% of the time I’m doing any painting.

6.   This spray paint trigger is a life finger saver.  If you’ve ever used spray paint, you know your pointer finger gets numb within 1.7 minutes.  This trigger slides and locks on top of the teeny tiny spray paint nozzle and provides a grip.  Then, you squeeze it with a few fingers.  If you’re spray painting anything, I would recommend spending $4.50 for this prosthetic.

Not pictured is a big burly man.  I would recommend getting one of those to do some of the work.  They’re great for doing final coats of paint and cleaning up your messes.

This entry was posted in paint. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paint By Numbers

  1. tiffany says:

    where would one purchase a big burly man?

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      They were on clearance a few years ago so you probably won’t be able to find them. I hear the smaller models work just as well or I can let you borrow mine.

Leave a Reply

