Dynamic Duo Does Denver

I’m baacck!  Hopefully someone is still reading.  I had to take a little break because of a little something called my day job.  As mentioned in a previous post, I’ll be taking blogging breaks every month due to work.  I’ve never had to work so much…ever.  Boohoo…at least I was able to work at home unlike my counterparts who were actually at work at 10pm running the stuff I was reviewing.

In the midst of my critical work schedule, we had plans to visit my brother in Denver.  So, I snuck away, turned my cell phone off and enjoyed our getaway.  In the short time we were there, we were visited the Denver Mint, the Coors factory, Buffalo Bill’s grave, Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, the Air Force Academy, and ate at a German, a Japanese, a Texan and buffalo burger restaurant.  Phew.  The Rockies were beautiful, but I was very tired by the time we got home.  Here are some of the highlights.

The Rockies:  This particular picture is at Lookout Mountain which is home to Buffalo Bill’s grave.  Doesn’t the sky look gorgeous?

The Coors Factory:  After the Coors tour, you get 3 free beer tastings. The factory seemed to be an after class hangout for the local college students.

The Garden of the Gods: Weird/random red rock formations.

Pikes Peak:  Elevation of 14110 ft, a temperature of 8 degrees and 25 mph winds.  And C didn’t even want to bring his jacket.  Doesn’t he look cold?  Fun fact:  Katharine Lee Bates was so inspired with the view at Pikes Peak that she penned America the Beautiful there.

Delicious donuts at the top of Pikes Peak.  I saw them on the Food Network and had to have one (or a dozen).

The Air Force Academy:  We wanted to go inside the Cadet Chapel, but it was too cold to walk over there.  Fun fact:  First year cadets can only walk on the  one foot wide marble paths around the campus.                                                                                              

Cookie Monster:  My brother’s dog.  You know I’m not a big animal fan, but Cookie was a joy to be around.  She never once tried to sniff, lick or jump on me.  Maybe she’s the only dog smart enough to realize I’m not so dog friendly.  C is an animal lover so he enjoyed hanging out with her.C was pretty busy while I was at work, so there was too much to tell you about anyways.  We’re back in the swing of things.  C is literally swing his hammer and tearing down walls.  Something for you to look forward to.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dynamic Duo Does Denver

  1. ray says:

    I can’t tell if that first picture on Lookout Mountain is real or fake. The more I look at it, the more it looks like a photoshop job.

  2. tiffany says:

    OMG I’m so glad a new post has been written. I have been feeling a giant void in my life because I didn’t have your blog to read. I’m glad its back. BTW did you get a pair of Uggs?

    • I’m glad to have been missed, but is it healthy that you depend on me to make your day?! =) Not Uggs, but Northface boots. Love them and would highly recommend for keeping your feet warm. They beat Uggs by being water/snow proof.

Leave a Reply

