Mirror Mirror on the Wall

I finally finished the floor length mirror we started a few months ago.  There was a minor snafu because “we” didn’t measure where the mirror was supposed to go and “we” made it too big.  So, we had to take the frame apart, cut it down and touch up the paint.

After we (re)built the frame, I faced the painted side of the frame down and put the mirror on top of it.

Then, I attached the mirror to the frame with plastic mirror hooks/clips that I got from the hardware store.  It was really easy to screw and secure them to the wood.  Voila, we have a framed floor length mirror.

What do you think?  It is not exactly the same as the West Elm version, but it is close enough.  You can’t tell from the picture, but the gunmetal gray has a slight metallic sheen.  I couldn’t find a light gray that wasn’t super shiny so I went with something darker with a little bit of sparkle.  The last thing I need to do is to screw a tie down between the mirror and wall so it won’t topple down on me during an earthquake.  But we’re not predicted to have a big one any time soon, right?

This entry was posted in diy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mirror Mirror on the Wall

  1. Cheryl says:

    I’d like to place an order for one of my own. Please advise when it will be ready. LOVE IT and well done!

  2. tiffany says:

    Loved how you put the bag down below like west elm did.

Leave a Reply

