The Thrill of Victory

And the agony of defeat the seat.  The perfect quote for the struggle between me and the chair back.  It was the most frustrating project I have ever tackled.  Murphy’s law was the theme of the night and anything that could have gone wrong, did.  I bought customized  foam for the back, but it was too big.  I cut the fabric in the wrong order and didn’t have the right size by the time I got to the  cording.  The patterns weren’t lining up.  The fabric would not lay flat on the curved foam.  I pricked myself with the staples.  Boo hoo.

You can see where I started from in this post and this one.

It looks good, but there were imperfections that I could not work out and it annoys me.  Annoys me so much that I don’t know if I have the energy to finish the second chair.  The feeling of defeat for the second time makes me want to quit before I have even started.  Enough of my pity party, here is the finished product.

The frame was not “polished” with paint for a few reasons.  First, it was in really good shape and only needed to be rejuvenated by a little wood polish.  Second, the wood colored frame and gray fabric are a hybrid between the two big pieces of furniture.  The gray fabric matches the mirrored buffet and the wood tone mimics the pool table.  You’ll see what I mean if I ever get around to taking pictures of the entire room.  Or you can sift through old post.

This entry was posted in diy, pretty things, upholstery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thrill of Victory

  1. Auntie says:

    The chair looks great. . . .I think you’ve found your next career. 🙂

  2. bobbi lee says:

    OMG the chair looks fantastic – you have inspired me to at least try my dining room chairs – I figure if I totally muck them up I can pay someone to do it….

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      Replacing the fabric on dining chairs is very easy. Call me and I’ll help you!

  3. Randi says:

    Looks perfect! You did a fantastic job – I can’t wait to see it up close and personal. Don’t give up – do the second chair!

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      I was just too defeated to finish both in the same weekend, but I’ll start on the second one this weekend.

Leave a Reply

