Welcome to the Gun Show

Me:  Got your ticket to the show?  (Insert C flexing his arm)

You:  What show?

Me:  The gun show.  (Insert me giggling)

I got a new tool for my DIY tool kit as a Christmas present.  A Wagner Control Spray Max HVLP sprayer.  It is a life saver when you are painting 400 square feet (equal to a gallon of paint) worth of dresser and plywood.

We used it to paint all of the boards for the closet shelves and the dresser. If you noticed, they happened to be the same color and it wasn’t because there was a sale on gray spray paint.  I figured spray paint wouldn’t be economical for large projects, and I have not mastered the art of painting with a good old fashion paint brush without leaving major brush marks.  So I asked for a spray gun for Christmas.  I really think that was the nail in the coffin of my fun, young lifestyle.  Me asking for a “tool” instead of clothes.  Hard to believe, but it happened.  I digress…

With the help of Amazon.com reviews, I found this model which was both (relatively) well priced and worked with latex paint.  Most general sprayers have a hard time with the thicker consistency of latex paint.  Since I have no patience with oil based anything, it was key that I had something that I could easily clean.

It comes with two canisters to fill with paint, but I always used the smaller one.  My little arm was getting tired of holding the little container full of paint  so I don’t think I would have been able to hold the other one for long.  It has three spray patterns (up&down, side-to-side, and circle) with a “small” spray.  The board on the right is a quick spray and the one on the left is a longer spray.  As you can see, it comes out much coarser than spray paint.

After you put on a full coat, it looks horrible.  It looks like a thick orange peel which is about to drip off the surface you just painted.  Luckily, it dries pretty well.  Once again, not as fine as spray paint, but pretty darn close.  I’ll take mini orange peel over giant brush strokes any day.


The over spray wasn’t too bad.  I’m pretty sure if we had done a better job with covering the surrounding surfaces, it would have been unnoticeable.  Here is where we painted.  You can see that we only covered about 10 inches from the top and 10 inches from the bottom.

It looks like the over spray was about 5 inches beyond what we covered.  Now we know for next time.

A few more notable things about the Wagner sprayer:

  • It is kind of noisy, but nothing that requires ear plugs.  It is about as loud as a vacuum.
  • The air hose from the main unit is generous and provides plenty of freedom to move around.
  • It is easy to clean (at least for latex paint).

I think it is the best spray gun I could have gotten.  Then again, I don’t really have anything to compare it to.  In any case, I can’t wait to find more things to paint.  I’m hoping to find some great pieces of junky furniture to transform.  Let me know if you have anything to donate to my painting experiment.

This entry was posted in diy, paint and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

