Snug as a Bug

My desk at work is always clean.  I put all of my papers away before I leave at night and wipe it clean once a week.  My desk at home is another story.  It is fully of random papers, bills, receipts and sometimes trash.  I clean it off about once a month, but am never really satisfied because of this mess.

I had already started to organize the cords before I remembered to take a picture, but it was a big rat’s nest.  As you can see I have two PCs which add to the tangle of cords and cables.  I needed a cable management system stat.

I was too impatient to buy the cable organizer I saw at Ikea so I improvised.  My inspiration came from the Velcro straps used to organize laptop batteries and cords.  Luckily I had some 99 cent Velcro. I sewed the two pieces together with the Velcro parts facing each other.  In retrospect, I probably didn’t have to sew it since it is Velcro and I wouldn’t be moving it a lot.

My desk has a piece of wood which runs across the bottom where I stapled 3 sets of Velcro straps.  I probably could have used the top or sides of the desk just as well.

I also screwed in 3 screws so I could hang the power strip.

Finally, the cords were wrapped in the Velcro and nicely hidden away.  They were as snug as a bug in a rug.

Voila!  My desk is free of clutter and my floor is free of cables.  Let’s hope I can keep it that way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

