DIY Covered Buttons and Tufted Headboard

Remember the garbage pile on the patio from the closet renovation?  I was able to save a few things from the wrath of backyard cleaning monster that C has become.  I always planned on turning the old closet doors into a headboard and was able to convince him to save them.

The doors were 6 feet tall, but the bed is only 5 feet wide so we had to cut  them down by a foot.  Next, the two doors were stacked on top of each other and screwed together  with metal brackets.

I didn’t plan the assembly very well  so I did the next few steps in the wrong order.  What I should have done was drilled holes to thread the buttons through then add the foam and batting.  Instead, I added foam and batting before drilling holes.  It wasn’t impossible, but the drill kept getting stuck on the foam when it punched through the wood.  A lesson for the next tufted headboard I make.

My mom was throwing away the foam egg crates that are used for beds.  I recycled them  and reused them as padding for the wood.  I wrapped the layers with batting and stapled everything down.


I didn’t mark where the holes needed to go.  I just laid the tape measure down and drilled every ten inches.  Like I said, next time I will drill first and pad second.

Since I was making a semi-tufted headboard, I need covered buttons.  The big covered button kits cost $1 each and I needed 14.  Fourteen dollars for buttons?  Um…no thanks.  There had to be a cheaper way to get covered buttons.  With a little online research, I found that people actually cover regular buttons (duh, why didn’t I think of that).  But where could I find something that was as big as a quarter and costs about the same.? I could have used quarters, but I used metal washers.  They cost about 10 cents and were the exact size I was looking for.

First, I cut circles of fabric that were twice the size of the washer.  A one inch washer  needed a two inch fabric circle.  The fabric was about 1/2″ beyond the edge of the washer.  Second, I straight stitched around the perimeter of the fabric.  When I had stitched around the entire circle, I pulled tight around the washer and sewed it shut.  Ta-da!  An inexpensive covered button.

Next, I stapled the fabric which was a white faux leather.  I picked the faux leather since it would be easy to clean.  The last headboard I made was from canvas duck cloth and I made it look even dirtier when I tried to clean it.

Once the fabric was secure, I used twine to thread the buttons through the foam and wood.  I bought a five inch upholstery needle to get through all of the layers.  Since my DIY buttons didn’t have the hook for the thread, I looped  twine from the left to right side and back to the left.  Then I looped it through the middle of the so it would centered on the button.

To ensure that I would sew through the hole,  I went from the back  of the headboard to punch a hole in the fabric.  Then, I used the small mark to guide the needle to the back.  Another lesson for the next headboard is to make the holes bigger.

To secure the twine, I stapled it in a zig-zag to make sure it would stay tight.  C was in the front to make sure all of the buttons were the same tightness.

Repeat thirteen times and end up with this:

Since the faux leather was so thick, it was hard to get a nice folded edges.  It isn’t as square and tight at the top as I would have liked, but I can live with it.  Not too shabby considering this oversized headboard only cost $25 in fabric, batting and washers.

This entry was posted in diy, furniture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Covered Buttons and Tufted Headboard

  1. Jamie says:

    You’re a genius. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

