DIY Pinwheels


Pinwheel, pinwheel spinning around. 

Look at my pinwheel and see what I’ve found. 

Pinwheel, pinwheel, where have you been? 

Hello, how are you and may I come in?

(that song from an 80s kiddie show popped into my head as I was writing this)

There was a lot of interest in the pinwheels at my party so I’ve put together a tutorial.  It is a pretty yet economical decoration.  I was able to make a wall of them in about two episodes of American Idol.  Which means it probably would have only taken half the time if I wasn’t watching tv.

I saw these at Paper Source a few weeks ago and almost bought them.  Luckily they were out of stock so I saved myself a lot of money.  I took a quick look at how they made and took several mental pictures.  It had to be mental pictures because I didn’t want them to think I was ripping them off.  I had hoped to get a better look at them on their website, but they weren’t available online.  It was a good thing I had taken a “snapshot” in store so I had something to go by.

I started with lightweight card stock, but it was too heavy and was hard to shape so I switched to construction paper.  Not only was it lightweight, but it was cheap.

All I needed for this paper craft was construction paper, staples and a mini-stapler.  The Paper Source version used brads, but I was going to throw these away after the party so I didn’t want to spend the extra time or money.

The first step was to the cut the construction paper into squares.  I used a paper cutter to make 7″x7″ and 5″x5″ squares.  Two different squares for two different sized pinwheels.  Step 2 is to fold the square into a triangle and cut where I drew the lines.  I didn’t draw the lines on each piece of paper, but wanted to make it easier for you to see where to cut.  Since I was free-handing these, I just cut and hope for the best.  There was variation between each piece, but it didn’t effect the final shape of the pinwheel.

Next, I opened up the triangle and connected the corners of the inside square.  Then I flipped it over and stapled the corners of the middle square.  Finally, I flipped it over again to stapled the corners of the outside square.

this is what you end up with after all of that stapling

You have to make eight of these “cones” for one pinwheel.  Once you have all eight completed, you connect them to make the final pinwheel.  I arranged them so they were all facing the same way.  Meaning the outside square touching the middle square.   You can either staple the bottom or middle first.  If you staple the bottom first, it will look like a fan.

Or if you staple the middle first, it will look like an accordion.

Either way, when you finish with one direction staple the other part.  Once you get going, it starts to look like this.

Keep stapling and eventually you get a pretty pinwheel.  Or sixteen of them.  I was going to make more since I had more paper, but I ran out of staples.  I bought another box, but they were the wrong size.  Which is why I couldn’t finish the other half for this tutorial.  Oh well.  You get the gist of it.

I looped a piece of string around the top of one of the cones and taped it to the top of the door frame.  Easy, right?  At the end of this craft,  you will have pretty things to hang up and a much stronger thumb and index finger.

This entry was posted in diy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Pinwheels

  1. ray says:

    halfway into june and no updates? what’s going on here.

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      60 hour work weeks are going on. I have to eat and sleep in between working which leaves zero time for projects.

Leave a Reply

