Organization Heaven

I love being organized.  The shirts in my closet are hung in order of sleeve length and color.  The food in the pantry is lined up by meal coarse.  My bills and statements are neatly filed in individual folders in a filing cabinet.  Even the cabinets in the garage organize by type:  cables and cords, paint, car stuff and tools.

My craft things are in organizational disarray.  I have paper, cardstock and envelopes in a  cubbie in the closet.  Rulers, paper cutters and punches are in the drawer under the tv.  Stamps, inks, felt and ribbon are in one bin under the bed.  Glue gun, staple gun and accessories are in another.  So, I’ve been on a Craigslist hunt for a filing system.  Each craft type doesn’t take up too much space so I thought an old, wooden library card catalog would be the perfect thing to hold my stuff.  But yikes, the prices were steep.  I guess since libraries have done away with the paper look-ups, the drawers that held them are becoming rare.

I continued my search for months hoping someone would sell one for cheap not knowing their worth.  Alas, I was unable to a card catalog, but I did find a good compromise.  I found this metal, paper file drawer.

Judging from the titles on the drawers and a form stuffed at the bottom, I think the guy who owned this was in the insurance business.

The whole thing was in pretty good shape, but I wanted it to be bright white to match the other furniture in the office.  With that decision, I took on the tedious task of removing all 27 drawers.  Then removing the 27 handles from the drawers.  It took 2 bottles of primer and 1.5 bottles of gloss white to completely cover the black.  The handles were painted in a gloss black.  I probably could have finished it in one weekend, but I got a little trigger happy with the spray paint and gobbed up half a few drawer faces.  With the rework, it took about 2 weekends (3 days total).  This is not the most earth shattering transformation, but it is still pretty to look it.

I got some paint in the drawers so I ended up lining them with cardstock.

It looks like it is floating because it is sitting on a furniture dolly.  I still have to move it into the office and populate it.  First, I need to get rid of some of the stuff that has accumulated in it.  I currently have a plastic tote for stuff that belongs in other rooms and a jewelry box that is only holding jewelry boxes.

I purchased it for for $50 on Craigslist.  It might be an expensive Craigslist buy for some, but I was smiling as I drove home thinking about the different ways I could organize my stuff.  Including the paint, it cost about $65 to buy my organization heaven.

This entry was posted in furniture, paint and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Organization Heaven

  1. Kristy Swain says:

    I love this piece and how it turned out. If you are interested in a guest post on how you did this and where it lives now (maybe before and after pics of where it lived), let me know! Just email me.

  2. Ray says:

    Looks great. I like the colorful cardstock liners—a secret punch of color. Vanessa was able to get a cool library card catalogue. I think she uses it as a wine drawer.

    • nailpolishpaint says:

      I’m still in the market for a card catalog if anyone sees one for a good price.

Leave a Reply

