Dolly the Sheep

Like the scientists who created Dolly the sheep, I have dabbled in cloning.  I’m refurbishing a very vintage vanity, but it is missing part of its drawer pull.  I didn’t have any luck finding a replacement so I decided to clone it.  How?  I’m glad you asked.  I made a mold and filled it with plaster.

Here is what I used:

1.  I know it only looks like a black bowl, but there is warm water in there

2.  A measuring spoon

3.  A container to hold the mold.  I this case, I used a plastic cup.

4.  The molding mixture.  Inside the box of InstaMold is a bag of flour-like stuff.

5.  Something to mix with like a plastic knife

6.  The thing you want to make a mold of.

The InstaMold directions call for 1 part water to 1 part mixture.  First, put 4 tablespoons of water in the cup.  Next, mix in 2 tblspns of the mixture.  After it is well blended, add the last 2 tblspns.  When the lumps were gone and the mixture was a paste-like consistency, press the object in to make a mold.  Finally, strongly tap it a few times to release any air bubbles.  Let it set for about five minutes.

It took me three tries to get it right.  My first mistake was putting the InstaMold first and water second (it clumped up).  My second mistake was putting all of the InstaMold into the water at once (it set too fast).  The directions say to sift the powder in, but that was just too much work for me.

After the mold is set, remove the object and look at the your pretty mold.  I confess that I took this picture the next day.  That’s why the mold is starting to shrink and looks kind of crusty.

I forgot to take pictures while casting the plaster, but I used StrongCast.  I went through similar steps as making the mold, except the directions called for 2 parts of StrongCast to 1 part water.  After you mix it in a separate cup, pour to the top of the mold.  It takes at least an hour for the casting to dry, but I forgot about it and left it in for a day.  This is what you get when it is finished.

What do you thing of the clone?  I think it has a sheep’s coloring.  I was able to get most of the details of the original metal piece.  I forgot to leave a hole for the screw to go through, but I was able to drill one.  The plaster is paintable, but you will have to prime it first. Otherwise it just soaks up the paint.

Are you excited to see how I use it?  You’ll have to wait.  The vanity it is going on is giving me a few problems.  Tune in next week.  I’m sure I’ll be done by then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dolly the Sheep

  1. Pingback: Vintage Rebirth |

  2. bobbi lee says:

    You are simply amazing!

Leave a Reply

