Welcome, Not

What is worse, receiving an unexpected guest during dinner or  receiving an unexpected guest who won’t leave?  This is a trick question because the answer is both.  So who would be so rude as to not leave when you tell them you are busy?  A solicitor of coarse.

We have the normal solicitors.  People selling newspapers (no thanks, we’ve already subscribed to two different ones thanks to your kind), people selling religion (no thanks, I already have God in my life) and people asking for donations (no thanks, I already donate money to said God in previous solicitation.)  The weirdest one?  People selling organic  vegetables.  Since we didn’t already have an organic vegetable subscription, we signed up for it.  And when I say we, I mean C.  He can’t say no to save his life.  Which is usually great for me until our vegetable subscription came with things that I don’t eat (broccoli) and things I couldn’t identify (flava beans).

The final straw came after our second newspaper subscription.  We barely read the one we have so I felt sorry for the poor trees who are being needlessly killed just so they can be recycled.

I decided to make sign to display right next to the door bell to inform the solicitors that they were welcome…not (in my best Borat voice).

Here is what I used for this project.  A piece of wood left over from a previous project was spray painted black for the support/background.  Next, I created a quick sign and printed it on regular paper.  The piece of wood was about 10″x3.5″ so I made the signed just a hair smaller.

After I cut it down to size, I used spray glue to stick it to the wood so it wouldn’t curl.

I didn’t think of how I was going to seal the paper until after I started working on it.  I settled on Mod Podge.  I probably could have saved a step with the spay glue and just used the Mod Podge.  Oh well.  I tried to use as little Mod Podge as possible to prevent the paper from curling.  I started out well, but accidentally gobbed it on towards the end.  No problem.  I used my fingers to smooth the bubbles.

While I was waiting for the glue to dry, I hot glued a ribbon around the edge so I could hang it up.  The ribbon was about two times the length of the perimeter of the wood (so about 48″.)

Finally, I added one more generous layer of Mod Podge and it was ready to go outside (after it dried.)

I found a wreath hanger at Michaels on clearance for about $3.  It was the perfect height and stands next to our doorbell.


Maybe the solicitors will think twice before they ring our bell.  Do you have any interesting ways to keep solicitors from bothering you?

This entry was posted in diy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Welcome, Not

  1. Kristy Swain says:

    What a cute project! I love it. I always forget to mod podge things.

  2. tiffany says:

    I agree with Ray. It’s so pretty they’ll want to come up to look at it, then talk to you guys. Maybe instead of pink ribbon you can use barbed wire so they won’t steal the sign?
    Did I ever tell you I got soliticed by door to door meat sales men? They were trying to sell me 100 lbs of “Fresh, Top quality” beef for $250.00. They were super pushy too! I told them I was going Vegan, and they left.

  3. tracy says:

    I love it! We live by a lumber yard and there is always free scrap wood to use. I will keep that mod podge stuff in mind to make it look nicer.

  4. Ray says:

    Your sign is so pretty, it might invite more solicitors.

Leave a Reply

