Picking Parts

We’re on the third week of the giant kitchen project.  Unfortunately, there has not been much visible progress since the last post so I’ll just talk about all of the cool stuff we’ll be putting into the kitchen.

We bought all of the major appliances from Pacific Sales since we had such a good experience with them when we bought our washer and dryer.  We had done price comparisons at a few stores and found they had the best prices for the appliances we wanted.  And when I was ready to walk out because something was more than I wanted to pay, they knocked down the price.  And they let us buy a floor model that wasn’t for sale.  And they have free delivery (and haul away).  So, basically Pacific Sales saved us money.

They have a huge selection.  Too many if you ask me.  Why do they make dishwashers where the only difference is an additional wash cycle?!

This is the only appliance that we bought and remembered to take a picture of.  We were too busy arguing looking at all of the specs to take pictures of everything else.

After we bought the appliances, we headed off to Cabinets to Go to look at the cabinets (obviously, what else would they sell there?).  I had my heart set on a style that I saw online so we were only swinging by so I could see them in person.

Yup.  I still liked the simple look of the plain, white Shaker faced cabinets.   I’m not sure that I would recommend them because they have had horrible customer service so far, but we’ll see if they can make it up to us.

of course they’ll look nicer with hardware and countertops

Next, it was off to a tile place.  I think it was called Arizona Tile and Stone.  Once again, I already knew what I wanted, but wanted face to face time with floors and back splash.

We’re using a ceramic, wood grained tile for the floor and glass subway tile for the back splash.

As for the counter tops, we went for something less traditional:  butcher block.  Yes, wooden counter tops.  You’re probably thinking it is a bad idea, but trust me, it is going to look great.  More details after we install them.

Yes, we hit all of those stores and more in one day.  We were already cranky halfway through the expedition which resulted in a noticeable difference in the quality of the photos.  Both of us got tired of carrying the big camera so we resorted to camera phone style pics.  We also toured the entire Ikea showroom since C had only been there once in his life and I wanted Swedish meatballs for lunch.  Yum.

We have one month to finish the kitchen and everyone keeps reassuring me it will get done.  Hopefully for them, it will.

This entry was posted in Kitchen Renovation. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Picking Parts

  1. Pingback: Material Girl |

  2. Sean says:

    I love butcher block counters! Or concrete counters!

  3. tracy says:

    Love the glass subway tiles and the color too!

  4. tiffany says:

    BTW Your kitchen sounds like it will be super nice and bright! Can’t wait to see the final product

  5. tiffany says:

    I wished I read this post last week…or remembered to tell you about my recent major appliance purchase over the weekend so that I could have gone to Pacific Sales. My washer was making a loud noise (bearing issues) and when I called around they said it would cost $500-$1000 to fix and they recommended that I just buy a new one since the warranty would be longer. The new one isn’t installed yet but washers aren’t things you want to ting doh once its in your house….

Leave a Reply

